Creative LMent

I believe that creativity is a powerful skill that can be practiced and developed. I hope my blog inspires you to find your very own "creative lment". ~LM

Little Monster Cupcakes

Trick or Treat...Give Me Something Good to Eat!

Yahhh – it’s almost Halloween!  And to celebrate, I decided to take a day off from production and do something creative in the kitchen.  For inspiration, I headed over to Wilton – and they did not disappoint.  By hitting “Search by Ideas”  I was able to narrow down my choices by both category and celebration – which made it pretty easy for me to make something I already had icing tips for.  I finally decided on the Little Monster Cupcakes – an adorable little design featuring several colours, a nice assortment of candy and just the right touch of drama.

Some of the supplies you will need to bring your monsters to life.

Not having used Wilton website instructions before I quickly realized that it would be up to me to find a suitable cupcake recipe.  Off to the bookshelf I went! I finally settled on simple vanilla – a nice base for all those tasty toppings.  The ingredient list included something called “super fine sugar” – which I later read was basically granulated sugar chopped up further in a blender – and apparently makes the cupcake batter even better! So, a few zip’s in the Magic Bullet and I was good to go.  I proceeded to mix all the ingredients and even resisted the urge to over mix the batter (very proud of myself lol).

Making them fluffy turned out to be easier than I thought.

While the cupcakes were cooking, I proceeded to make all of the different coloured butter cream icing I would need – orange, black and a small amount of white for the teeth.  Once done, I proceeded to decorate as per the instructions – placing the candy, and setting in the little antennas.

Happy Halloween!

My version did not have arms as I wanted them to fit nicely in my cupcake carrier (and I was glad I made that decision as I think it saved me quite a bit of time).   While it was a little tedious, I found this project to be straight forward and extremely fun.  I mean, just look at all those little faces….just begging to be eaten!  LOL  Well, they certainly had the “wow” effect I was looking for and helped spread enthusiasm for one of my favorite times of the year.  Wishing you all a happy and safe halloween!  ~LM

2 comments on “Little Monster Cupcakes

  1. millie35
    November 15, 2010

    These cupcakes are too cute! I wish I saw them before Halloween! I know my cousins would have got a kick out of them! :-)

    • CreativeLMent
      November 15, 2010

      Thanks! : D ~ LM

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 25, 2010 by in All Topics, Food/Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Pinterest

