Creative LMent

I believe that creativity is a powerful skill that can be practiced and developed. I hope my blog inspires you to find your very own "creative lment". ~LM

Orange Cranberry Biscotti

Baking with dried cranberries - another first!

So, I decided to break down this weekend and try something totally different.  Aside from all the lovely cupcake and macaron posts, I’ve noticed biscotti has been making a bit of a come back.  And with it getting so chilly outside, anything that allows me to “bake twice” is a welcome idea in my kitchen. Never having made it before, I decided to head to the internet to find some inspiration – and I came across a lovely post over at the Nook & Pantry.  Amy (the author) does a fabulous job of describing the process and the various baking options available.

"It's log, it's log, it's better than bad, it's good!" (I've gone and dated myself, haven't I?)

The recipe called for a pretty combination of both cranberry and pistachio – a perfect holiday colour combination, but since my intention was to make these for coworkers and drop little “biscotti packages” off to each of their desks, I felt butter free and nut free (just to be safe) was my best option.  Biscotti is known to be long lasting when made without butter, and not knowing who would be in or out of the office this week, I felt this to be a wise move.  The recipe was straight forward, and overall, very easy – with one exception:  the making of the logs. By the time I had mixed everything together, the moist mass became a tad troublesome to shape.  The perfectionist in me attempted to mould perfect 3″ x ” 10″ rectangles – but the kid..I mean “artist” in me decided to let go and allow the finished product to maintain a rustic, texturized finish. I would not be disappointed.

Homemade Biscotti + A Creative LMent Cookie Kit

Following the instructions, I proceeded to cook, cool, cut and bake twice.  After taking them out to cool for a final time, I headed down to my craft nook and grabbed this sweet cookie kit set out of my inventory. This kit includes 6 white paper bakers bags and 6 hand-stamped adhesive labels.  The bags were the ideal size for biscotti – and the red card stock on the label matched perfectly with the cranberries. Packaging them all up was a breeze too,  I just popped in the cookies and attached the labels to the front.

Special packaging can really turn the most simple baked good into an exceptional gift.

People will appreciate the gifts you give them no matter what the package, but I have found that the extra attention you take to wrap can really have a fantastic impact. A beautiful package entices the recipient and shows them the attention you have taken to detail.  Just a few simple baked goods and some pretty packaging – sounds like a easy gift giving formula just about anyone can follow!  ~LM

2 comments on “Orange Cranberry Biscotti

  1. Courtney Larson
    June 5, 2011

    These look delicious. I will be testing these out very soon. I saw your NL Snowball recipe? Are you from NL originally?

    • CreativeLMent
      June 5, 2011

      Hi Courtney, Thanks for your comment. Yes I am from Newfoundland! I grew up eating these every Christmas – they are VERY tasty ;) ~LM

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 10, 2010 by in All Topics, Food/Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Pinterest

