Creative LMent

I believe that creativity is a powerful skill that can be practiced and developed. I hope my blog inspires you to find your very own "creative lment". ~LM

Tea Biscuits

Tea Biscuits, Mickey Mouse, Homebaked

Enjoying a little Disney magic in the kitchen.

I’m very much a homebody at heart –  so the cool Nova Scotia winters tend to keep me inside for most of the season. Looking out the window on this fine January morning proved nothing short of inspirational. Mountains of snow everywhere and still more falling. What’s a girl to do? A quick check in the pantry assured me that I had all the materials needed to try out a recipe for homemade tea biscuits.  Delighted – off I skipped to preheat the oven.

These have always been a staple growing up in the maritimes.   Versatile, inexpensive and easy to make –  this  is a wonderful and worthwhile recipe to master.  I first decided to make the “basic” tea biscuit (made without sugar) and thought I would try out my new Mickey Mouse cookie cutters.  I was curious if the shape would hold up well during baking – and was exhilarated when I realized they would.  Then, I thought I would tempt fate with a second batch – this time a sweetened raison biscuit.  I cut those ones using a biscuit cutter and was pleased when they turned out perfectly as well.

Tea Biscuits, Raison Tea Biscuit

Raison Tea Biscuits

Freshly baked tea biscuits are wonderful for entertaining, especially on a chilly day.  I’ve included some options for you below – should you wish to try them yourself!  ~LM

Tea Biscuits

  • 2 cups of flour
  • 4 teaspoons of baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/4 cup of shortening
  • 1 cup of milk

Mix together flour, baking powder and salt. Cut in shortening with 2 knives or a pastry blender. Make a well in the centre of your dry ingredients and add milk slowly. When all the liquid has been added, stir the dough vigorously until it comes freely from the side of the bowl. Turn the dough onto lightly a floured board and kneed lightly for a few minutes. Roll to your desired thickness (about 1/2 inch). Cut the dough with a knife or biscuit cutter and place on greased or parchment covered baking sheet. Bake in oven (450F) for 12 – 15 minutes.

Variations:

Fruit/Nut Biscuit – Add 1/4 cups of granulated sugar and decrease milk to 3/4 cup. Add 3/4 cup of raisins, currants or nuts with the milk.

Cheese Biscuit – Decrease shortening to 3 tablespoons and salt to 3/4 teaspoon. Cut in 1/2 cup of grated cheddar cheese with shortening.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 10, 2011 by in All Topics, Food/Travel and tagged , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Pinterest

