Creative LMent

I believe that creativity is a powerful skill that can be practiced and developed. I hope my blog inspires you to find your very own "creative lment". ~LM

Girl’s Day In: Baking!

Mini-Banana Bread loaves - fresh from the oven!

I have learned over the years that shared experiences can be incredibly bonding. For people I am just getting to know, a joint activity provides focus.  For people that I know well, an activity often gives me new insight into their personality and preferences.  And as a host, I love it when my guests can leave with a good memory of the day (and even better when they can take a little something home!).  So, when I have girlfriends over, I usually try and plan an activity.

On Saturday, I got together with my girlfriend Judy for a “Girl’s Day In” and since we both enjoy baking, we thought it would be fun to try baking a few things together.  My goodness did we have fun!  I started the day by making some banana bread mini-loaves using my new silicone baking pans. I had never cooked in silicone before, but now that I have, I plan to buy more!  They were easy to use and the food turned out perfectly!  Once Judy arrived, we got to work on her Mocha Slice Cookies.

Mocha Slice Cookies

One of her ingredients was Expresso Powder – which turns out is just regular expresso coffee beans (dark blend) ground up into a fine powder. We added them to her cookies, along with cocoa powder – and OH MY it was good!  Now that I know what expresso powder is, I plan to add it to a future butter cream icing project!

Snickerdoodle Cookies

Last up were my Snickerdoodles.  I have a vague memory of these from a DisneyWorld christmas party I went to a few years back so I was eager to try them out.  I was especially keen to give them a shot since the Snickerdoodble is an ice-box cookie, which means you make the dough in advance and freeze it for up to 3 months.   Well, I was not disappointed; they were lovely in flavour and texture.  I will be making these more regularly for sure!

Are you interested in coordinating a Girl’s Day In with baking as your theme?  Here are a few tips:

CL Tips Girls Day In-Baking Theme PDF

This post kick’s off a series of articles I will be writing which focus on  fun and inexpensive activities that girlfriends of all ages can do together.  If you have any great experiences that you would like to share, please feel free to leave a comment below!  ~LM

4 comments on “Girl’s Day In: Baking!

  1. Babygirl
    January 24, 2011

    I’ve had snickerdoodle cookies before but I’ve never tried Mocha slice cookies before. And might I add, these cookies look so yummy. Very nice post.

    • CreativeLMent
      January 24, 2011

      Thank you so much!

  2. Judi
    January 25, 2011

    Perhaps LM can post the recipes for both cookies:)

  3. CreativeLMent
    January 25, 2011

    Snickerdoodle Recipe (Good HouseKeeping Recipe)
    – Makes 54 Cookies

    3 Cups All Purpose Flour
    2 Teaspoons Cream of Tartar
    1 Teaspoon Baking Soda
    1 Cup Butter or Margarine, 2 Sticks (softened)
    1 1/3 Cups Plus 1/4 Cup Sugar
    2 Large Eggs
    1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract
    1 1/2 Teaspoons Ground Cinnamon

    -Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. In large bowl, stir together flour, cream of tartar and baking soda.
    -In separate large bowl, with mixer at medium speed, beat butter and 1 1/3 cups sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs and vanilla, Reduce speed to low; beat in flour mixture until well blended.
    -In small bowl, combine cinnamon and remaining 1/4 cup sugar. With hands, shape dough into 1 inch balls. Roll in cinnamon and sugar mixture to coat. Place balls 1 inch apart on ungreased large cookie sheet. Bake until set and lightly golden and slightly crinkly on top, about 12 minutes. Cool on cookie sheet on wire rack for 1 minute. With wide metal spatula, transfer cookies to wire racks to cool completely. Repeat with remaining dough. Dough can last in freezer for up to 3 months (wrap in foil, then saran wrapped until air tight).

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Pinterest

