Creative LMent

I believe that creativity is a powerful skill that can be practiced and developed. I hope my blog inspires you to find your very own "creative lment". ~LM

Superbowl Sunday: A Baker’s Perspective

Mini-Football Shortbreads atop Banana Chocolate Cupcakes

Happy Super Bowl Sunday!   Its a day where a gal like me can stretch her skills a bit making sport related edibles without feeling like a complete poser.  I admit it, I don’t like football.  But, my husband does, as do many of my coworkers – and since I love being festive about most all other celebrations, this does not need to be the exception. You don’t have to love football to make football shaped cookies…which I did without investing in a football cookie cutter (see below).  Frugal yet effective!

Making footballs from a circle cookie cutter.

These cupcakes took several steps – cutting and baking the shortbreads, making the cupcakes, prepping 3 different coloured icings….the task of icing itself….but it was so worth it once they were done!  I love how the little footballs sit on top of the grass icing – just waiting for kickoff!

Chocolate Chip and Coconut Cookies

I also made a batch of these tasty chocolate chip and coconut cookies. I did not realize until later that I accidentally put double the required amount of butter.  Opps!  But you know what?  They were doubly tastier than the original version.  I placed each cookie in a tiny bakers bag and put them all in a football shaped basket – perfect for snacking between plays!

A football shaped basket stuffed with cookie snack packs.

Now that I have packed up all my goodies (and sent them off with my husband for a gathering he is attending), I plan to spend the rest of the day enjoying some paper crafts and taking in a movie.  My take on a perfect Superbowl Sunday.

Enjoy your day and stay safe!  ~LM

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Pinterest

