Creative LMent

I believe that creativity is a powerful skill that can be practiced and developed. I hope my blog inspires you to find your very own "creative lment". ~LM

Chad’s Ginger Molasses Cookies

C is for Cookie - that's good enough for me!My husband is a finicky eater.  Back when we were dating, I thought I would “wow” him by making a batch of chocolate chip cookies.  He didn’t eat one.  Some girls might have seen this as I sign of incompatibility – I saw it as a challenge.  After almost 9 years together, I was still trying to find that one recipe which intices him to dip into the cookie jar for seconds.

Well, the search ends today.  A double dip – witnessed by yours truely.

I wish I could say that I just threw this together and it was love at first bite.  Sadly not.  I instead drew inspiration from my local Sobey’s (grocery store) bakery section, where every week for as long as I can remember, my husband has been religiously picking up a container of fresh baked molasses cookies.  Why-oh-why did I not try making these sooner is a discussion for another post – but the point is – I finally stumbled on something he enjoys.  Maybe even something he’ll (gasp!) ask me to make everyonce in a while.  Inspired, I have decided to comemorate this occasion by naming this “holy grail” of cookie recipes after my husband. Honey, this one’s for you.

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup butter, unsalted
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • .75 teaspoon ground cloves
  • .75 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 cup brown sugar

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. In a medium bowl, mix the softened butter, sugar, and egg until smooth.  Stir in the molasses. In a separate bowl combine the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, cloves and ginger.  Once the dry ingredients are stirred, mix together with the molasses mixture.
  3. Roll dough into walnut sized balls.  Place them about 2″ apart onto ungreased baking sheets.
  4. Bake for 7-8m for soft textured cookies – or 10m for slightly crisp cookies.
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 4, 2011 by in All Topics, Food/Travel and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Pinterest

