Creative LMent

I believe that creativity is a powerful skill that can be practiced and developed. I hope my blog inspires you to find your very own "creative lment". ~LM

Blowing Out an Egg

I have always wanted to do a project with eggs – and decided that THIS was the year.  I imagined a trio of eggs nestled in a tiny birds nest – and was determined to make my vision a reality!  Learning about this type of project, I determined that there were two ways which one can prepare eggs for decoration: hard boil the egg first or blow out the egg contents completely.  In the end, I chose to empty the eggs completely since hard boiled eggs only last a few days.  I also decided between puncture methods, namely one hole or two, and finally decided that it would be easiest to clean out the egg using two holes. As I went through the the process, I took a few photos and thought I would share them with you in the event you wanted to try this project yourself. Enjoy!

Step 1: Gather Materials

Step 1:  Collect your materials.  Your list includes room temperature eggs, an extra bowl (for the egg contents), paper towels, a needle, and a few straws. You can choose pretty much any type of egg including quail, duck, goose – whatever you have on hand.  The straws I used were bar style (small and thin) and I found they worked really well.  I would recommend that you do this activity on your kitchen counter as you may need access to water to clean-up the occasional spill. I also suggest that small children watch from the counter for this activity – at least until the eggs are ready to be dyed or painted.

Step 2: Wash Eggs

Step 2:  Select and wash your eggs.  Again, if you plan to proceed to Step 3 after this, be sure your eggs are at room temperature (I first tried to break the needle through with refrigerated eggs and it seemed near impossible!  Only upon further research did I realize the error of my ways).    Wash your eggs in warm water using mild dish detergent, then dry them using a towel.

Step 3: Puncture Eggs

Step 3:  Now it is time to puncture the egg! Take a paper towel, fold it a few times and place it in the hand you will use to hold the needle; add the needle.  The paper towel will help you add pressure to the needle – all the while protecting your hand.  Start with the small end of the egg, pressing the needle into the shell, softly twisting until it finally pops through making a small hole. Do the same on the widest end of the egg – this time making a slightly larger hole (this will be the end that the egg contents will be blown out). In this larger hole, I shot through one of the bar straws so that I could break the yoke.  Doing this produced a uniformed size hole on the bottom of each egg.

Step 4: Blow Out Contents

Step 4:  I used a bar straw to blow out the egg contents – but there are other techniques I came across when I researched this project (including use of an ear bulb syringe, an injection syringe and a a glue syringe).  I decided to try the straw method since it was an item I could easily buy at our local dollar store.  Situate yourself over a bowl with an egg in one hand and a straw in the other.  Place one end of the straw directly on the small hole and the put the other end of the straw in your mouth. Blow through the straw until the contents of the egg empty out.  You will know that the egg is empty when bubbles start to exit the egg.

Step 5:  Once you are done emptying the eggs, take a wet cloth and clean up any contents that may be on the exterior of the egg.  To fully sanitize your eggs, bake them at 200 degrees F for 40 minutes.  This will fortify the shells while drying out any remaining contents.

Step 6: Dye Your Eggs

Step 6:  Have fun!  There are many great ideas for decorating eggs.  To dye mine I used either tea (a bowl of hot water + 2 tea bags) or food colouring (a bowl of water + several drops of colour to achieve the desired shade).  Just note, as the eggs are now empty, they will float.  In lieu of you standing and holding the egg under the water, I recommend that you place a upside down lid on the top of the bowl (or another item) to keep the eggs submerged while you work on other projects.

These eggs can be used as it or featured in other projects.  In the example I made above, I cut sections of dried grape vine and rolled them into small bird’s nests; using florist wire, I locked the coil into shape. Then I added some white feathers and three eggs (all kept in place using hot glue).  Eggs are used in a variety of seasonal craft projects, from Easter to Christmas, making this a useful and fun skill to learn.

Wishing you all a wonderful spring! ~LM

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Pinterest

