Creative LMent

I believe that creativity is a powerful skill that can be practiced and developed. I hope my blog inspires you to find your very own "creative lment". ~LM

DIY Canada Day Flags

Second to Christmas, Canada Day ranks high on my list of favourite celebrations.  I think its because I spent most of my youth involved in the Royal Canadian Air Cadet program, where every Canada Day, I would bear a flag and march at the annual parade in Toronto, Ontario.  Then, I would spend part of my weekend volunteering at the local park –  serving up cotton candy or trying not to get run over at the kiddy motor car track.  Fond memories.  I think community involvement at that age had quite an impact on me, and even today, I can’t hear our anthem without standing a bit straighter, getting teary eyed and singing along.

As an adult, I still like to celebrate Canada Day by enjoying some aspect of my community, even if its just taking a nice walk outside.  And being the festive sort of person I am, I also like to decorate my office.  This year, I decided to spread a little of my patriotism to fellow coworkers, and made a ton of these cute DIY Canada Day flags to post around the office.  This was such a quick and easy project!  To make these flags I used:

  • Stamp: Stampin’ Up! Canadian Pride
  • Ink: Stampin’ Up! Real Red Ink
  • Die: Papertrey Ink Fillable Frames #7
  • Cardstock: Papertrey Ink White
  • Other: wood coffee stir sticks, scissors, glue gun & glue sticks
Step 1: Stamp image on white square of card stock.

After making several die cuts out of the white card stock, I proceeded to stamp each one using the Canadian Pride stamp.  Despite it not being a clear stamp, I found it pretty easy to line things up.  Once I got going, I was a MACHINE! :)

Step 2: Prepare handles for your flags.

I used coffee stir sticks as the handle, but since I was only intending for the flags to be used as a decoration,  I decided to get twice the value by cutting them in half.

Step 3: Attach handle on each flag using hot glue.

Then I adhered the stick on to the back using hot glue.  These took me about an hour to make and resulted in a yield of 80 flags.   I posted them around work on Monday, and have to say, it’s been pretty neat walking around and seeing so much Canadian pride. :D

Happy (and safe) Canada Day everyone! ~LM

4 comments on “DIY Canada Day Flags

  1. Susan
    June 30, 2011

    have a safe & happy Canada Day, to you & Chad………{the Moncton Mac’s)

    • CreativeLMent
      June 30, 2011

      Thanks so much – wishing you the very same! :D [the Hali-Mac’s]

  2. Gail Peters
    June 14, 2014

    Hello . . . I love these little flags and especially the Canadian Pride stamp. Just wondering if you still have this stamp?

    • CreativeLMent
      August 24, 2014

      Hi there – yes I do :)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 30, 2011 by in All Topics, DIY Paper Crafts and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Pinterest

