Creative LMent

I believe that creativity is a powerful skill that can be practiced and developed. I hope my blog inspires you to find your very own "creative lment". ~LM

Canadian Themed Care Package

I recently sent off some lovely themed care packages to friends in the US so I thought I would take a minute and share the idea with you. My intention was to some up with a fun and unique gift idea, and after toying with a few concepts, I finally landed on a “Canadian” theme. Its hard to realize, unless you’ve traveled any distance from home, but there are so many products that are unique just to Canada – so much so, that entire websites (like Canada Only -dedicated to offering these products to Canadians abroad) have begun sprouting up all over the internet.

Upper Canada “Maple Leaves” Soap

I splurged and bought Upper Canada Maple Leaf hand soaps (perfect with fall just around the corner) –  but the gift box was too large on its own, so instead, I repackaged the soaps in clear bags and made little “Made In Canada” bag toppers. When I was done, I was glad that I made the extra effort – they looked so cute!  I had a blast adding other special touches, such as a maple leaf stamped belly band to gift wrap a rolled “Canadian Living” magazine”.

A handwritten note welcoming the recipient to their gift.

To welcome my friends to their care package, I cut some card stock, stamped a little moose with the words “Real Canadian” and hand wrote a special note.  In case there was any question as to what the theme was, this would answer it!  Last but not least, I took my “Canada: True North Strong and Free” stamp and stamped the exterior of the box.  A nice finishing touch!

I couldn’t resist stamp the boxes as well!

Here is a list of Canadian products I included, or considered including:

  • Chips: Ketchup Chips, Hickory Sticks, Ring-o-Lows, Crispers, Hawkins Cheezies
  • Condiments: Nova Scotia Maple Syrup, HP Sauce
  • Candy: Maynard’s Gun Drops
  • Chocolate Bars: Smarties, Coffee Crisp, Crispy Crunch, Wunderbar, McIntosh Toffee
  • Magazine: Canadian Living, Chatelaine
  • Beverages: Red Rose Tea, Tim Horton’s Coffee
  • Other:  Upper Canada Maple Leave Hand Soap

And for you crafty folks out there, here’s the craft supplies I used:

  • Stamps: Stampin’ Up! Glorious and Free
  • Inks: Stampin’ Up! Crumb Cake, Riding Hood Red
  • Cardstock: Papertrey Ink White, Stampin’ Up! Riding Hood Red
  • Accents: Stampin’ Up Riding Hood Red Zig Zag Stitched Grosgrain Ribbon
  • Other:  Stampin’ Up 1.75 Scallop Punch, Crop-a-Dile 3/8″ Corner Chomper

This concept is great for friends and family who work/live abroad (especially those serving in the military), for  friends in other countries who appreciate trying new things, or to welcome someone who is new to Canada.  Whatever your sentiment, it a gesture that is sure to be appreciated.  Have a fabulous day! ~LM

One comment on “Canadian Themed Care Package

  1. A Tablespoon of Liz
    August 31, 2011

    What a cute idea! I never knew that so many products were unique to canada!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Pinterest

