Creative LMent

I believe that creativity is a powerful skill that can be practiced and developed. I hope my blog inspires you to find your very own "creative lment". ~LM

A Year of Framed Stamp Art [January]

January's Framed Stamp Art Project

I’ve always admired the look of custom art projects featuring one of my favourite tools, stamps.   So this year, I decided to make a year long commitment to creating 12 DIY art projects of my own – one for each month of 2012.  I thought it would be a neat way to use my stamp collection, all the while creating some unique “seasonal” art.  Once the holiday decorations came down, I cleared a special spot in my office and made plans to start.

The hardest part was selecting a quality frame.  As I intended to reuse the same frame, I needed one which could withstand being opened and taken apart every month.  I also needed one with some depth so that it could accommodate dimensional embellishment.  Lastly, the frame colour had to work for all seasons, so after some consideration, I selected white as this years backdrop.

Original Frame

I came across this frame on sale at a local card shop on Boxing Day (Canada’s Post-Christmas Sale).  I was delighted that the decorative “friends” matting was actually made of thin wood instead of paper.  And lucky for me, the matting was reversible and came pre-painted white – saving me the added step.

Featured Stamp Art

I used Papertrey Ink‘s new Rosie Posie stamp and die set to create this bold, beautiful image as the feature.

Sentiment "Live your bliss"

And I selected the sentiment “Live your bliss” from Papertrey Ink’s Fillable Frames #8 and framed it with a stamp from Stampin’ Up‘s Favorite Things.  I used the sample photo that came with the frame as a guide to help me place my “artwork” and used repositional double sided tape to adhere both the art and the sentiment.

Finished project!

This project was easy and fun – and took me much less time to complete than I expected.  Stay tuned for next month’s framed art project – it’s sure to be LOVE-ly!  All the best~ LM

2 comments on “A Year of Framed Stamp Art [January]

  1. Pat
    January 7, 2012

    Looks great… looking forward to seeing the monthly updates

    • CreativeLMent
      January 7, 2012

      Thanks Pat!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Pinterest

