Creative LMent

I believe that creativity is a powerful skill that can be practiced and developed. I hope my blog inspires you to find your very own "creative lment". ~LM

Valentine’s Day Care Packages

Valentine's Day Heart Banner

To help bridge the distance with family and friends, one of my favourite things to do is make up special “care packages”.   Inside, I like to include homemade treats, crafts and notes – usually all in keeping with a particular theme, such as a holiday.  Its a nice way to help share my “festiveness”, and hopefully, deliver some well deserved smiles to some well deserving souls.

Pillow Box Favour Sets

This year, in preparations for Valentine’s Day, I did up a banner and pillow box gift set using coordinating designer paper from Papertrey Ink.  This was my first time trying out these dimensional hearts (as shown in the banner image up top).  I did not have any instructions, but it only took two attempts to get the dimensions right, so overall, pretty easy.  For this project, I needed the completed banner to fit into a smaller box (for shipping), so I kept the hearts small.  To finish the inside of the box off, I designed a post card (which gave me a special place to jot a personal message) and added pink shredded paper.

Gift Box w/banner and matching postcard for my personal message

I decided that the outside of the box needed a special touch too – so I added some stamped embellishments along the side….

Gift box embellishment (side)

…as well as the top of the box. I loved the extra touch this provided, and hoped it would help my recipient feel that much more special.

Gift box embellishment (top)

Now that most of my Valentine’s Day projects are complete, I’m starting to day dream about spring.  I cannot wait to start embellishing handmade treasures with blooming flowers again!  I’ve already started a few projects and look forward to sharing them with you shortly.  Have a wonderful week everyone! ~LM

One comment on “Valentine’s Day Care Packages

  1. Lynda MacDonald
    February 6, 2012

    Looks so lovely and HEARTwarming- the personal touches show how much you enjoy your creativity which leads to such special designs and unique projects- truly inspiring!Have a nice Valentine’s Day Lisa Marie-hugs,Lynda

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Pinterest

