Creative LMent

I believe that creativity is a powerful skill that can be practiced and developed. I hope my blog inspires you to find your very own "creative lment". ~LM

My 1st Sewing Project: Handmade Napkins

After a few VERY busy weeks between work and school, I finally have a moment today to post some pictures of the handmade napkin and card sets I created recently for mother’s day and a friend’s birthday.  Yay!

Sewing and paper crafting are two hobbies that compliment each other very well!  One of the perks is that you can sew a gift – and then design custom handmade cards, tags, and gift wrap to match.  I thought this flower pot card would be perfect for Mother’s day, and using simple dies and punches, I was able to easily recreate the design from the fabric.

During this project, I also realized that there is a rule that holds true in both in sewing and paper crafting projects:  it’s just as easy to make two of something, than it is to make one.  So, knowing that a friend had a birthday coming up, I also took the time to sew up a second batch of napkins.

Here’s the card I made for my friend to match her napkin set – see how the stamped flowers match the fabric?  Swoon!

I selected a napkin project to start because it is fairly simple to do, especially after reading this tutorial I found on Skip to My Lou (thank you – I now understand how to create mitred corners!).  In fact, I was able to make 16 napkins after owning my new sewing machine for only 4 days.  I especially appreciate all the practice I got sewing straight lines. I should mention that before getting started, I read my sewing machine manual and an additional reference book I bought called “The Sewing Answer Book: Solutions to Every Problem You’ll Ever Face; Answers to Every Question You’ll Ever Ask” thoroughly.    If you’ve been on the fence about sewing or feel intimated to use your machine – don’t be afraid to jump into it with both feet.  You’ll be so happy you did!

3 comments on “My 1st Sewing Project: Handmade Napkins

  1. Lynda MacDonald
    June 9, 2012

    Love my mother’s day handcrafted napkins and card! Great job,Lisa Marie! Admire your determination to learn all you can on subjects that interest you -including technology updates(tools)- you are truly a wonderful example of fullfilling life-long learning experiences that enhance one’s life as well as bringing joy to others through your creativity! hugs,Lynda

  2. Patricia Wall-England
    June 9, 2012

    Beautiful Lisa Marie…..

  3. Susan
    June 15, 2012

    such beautiful material & thank you for sharing the tutorial site….another good spot to spend time (just bought a new digital sewiing machine!) all of your projects are so thoughtfully put together & shared; much appreciated by me & others! thanks for that!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Pinterest

