Creative LMent

I believe that creativity is a powerful skill that can be practiced and developed. I hope my blog inspires you to find your very own "creative lment". ~LM

Handmade Tablecloth

I can’t count the number of hours I have spent planning, designing, and crafting handmade papercraft projects – cards especially. It’s a true labour of love.  But sewing has been a totally different experience for me.  When you start a sewing project, all you start with is tread and material – but in just a few minutes, you can craft a item which can last a lifetime.  My tablecloth project is a perfect example.  I originally bought the fabric for my napkin project, but once I got it home and rolled it out over my dining room table, I discovered that it was the PERFECT size for a tablecloth.  I began daydreaming about a new red tablecloth as the backdrop for future Canada Day, Christmas and Valentine’s Day dinners…I didn’t just want a red tablecloth, it was obvious that I NEEDED a red tablecloth!

With my napkin making experience still fresh in my memory, I began prepping the fabric, ironing the creases and mitering the corners.  For those of you who want to know more about the mitring technique, a quick google search will yield lots of good results.  There is more than one technique out there but the one I used follows this methodology (courtesy of Fiesta Resistance).  A thread change and 25m minutes of straight stitching, and I was basking in the glow of yet another completed sewing project (this is getting addictive!).  An item I could reuse over and over…and perhaps (gasp!) handdown to younger family members.  LOL  Well, I realize it’s not heirloom quality, but I was quite amazed by how little it took to make one of these.  And the fabric itself only cost me $6 (!!!) making this a very economical gift idea.  I wonder if my loved ones will notice me pulling out my tape measure when I go to visit? ;)

Now that I have done napkins and tablecloths (thus mastering the straight stitch), I totally feel ready for a new challenge.  Thanks to Pinterest I have about 1500 more fabric projects lined up.  Hoping to narrow it down to one in the coming weeks – stay tuned!

4 comments on “Handmade Tablecloth

  1. Patricia Wall-England
    July 11, 2012

    Beautiful…. now you will need an orange one for Fall,

  2. Sue
    July 12, 2012

    I do love red, or I should say certain colors of red, as no 2 reds are created equally; I think you’ll enjoy your moments with your new sweiing machine/fabric/etc…tfs &!

  3. CreativeLMent
    July 12, 2012

    Yes, I totally see more tablecloths in my future! You are right Pat, I don’t have an orange one….and I NEED one!! ;)

  4. Lynda MacDonald
    July 12, 2012

    Beautiful colour of red for the napkins! Red and gold are favourites in the Paris palaces! Glad you are enjoying your new sewing machine/projects,Lisa Marie! Our reconstruction of the shore deck project has us both exhausted in this hot weather-think I’ll get back to needlepoint for a break! lol Have fun with your creative flair! hugs,Lynda

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 11, 2012 by in All Topics, DIY Decor/Organization and tagged , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Pinterest

