Creative LMent

I believe that creativity is a powerful skill that can be practiced and developed. I hope my blog inspires you to find your very own "creative lment". ~LM

T-Shirt Resize

Just wanted to pop on a quickly and post about this morning’s t-shirt resize project. Hubby and I recently went to Apple’s grand opening here in Nova Scotia, and since we were one of the first 1000 people to enter the store, we each got a t-shirt.  Awesome right?  Except the t-shirt turned out to be an extra-large.  Normally, these types of give way’s would either get donated or put aside for painting work or scrap material – but now that I have a sewing machine (and that this is my husbands favourite store of ALL TIME) I wanted to at least try resizing the shirt in hopes that he could wear it.  I’m happy to say that this first time project was a success!   I just followed along with this tutorial that I found on Pinterest (graciously shared by fellow creative soul Andrea Steed).  Super fun and easy!  And it took me less than 30 minutes to do.  You can’t tell from the image since I cut hubs head off during the photo crop, but he’s pretty pleased about being able to sport his Apple shirt.   And now that I know how to do this, I’m happy too!

4 comments on “T-Shirt Resize

  1. Lynda MacDonald
    September 9, 2012

    Congrats,Lisa Marie on a great project with such timely and perfect results! How nice that others like Andrea Steed share their expertize and experience with motivated,life-long learning, creative souls and sewing apprentices like yourself on pinterest!

    • CreativeLMent
      September 12, 2012

      Thank you! Chad went out and bought me a better sewing table on the weekend. I think he realized this hobby is a keeper! He loves my new found domestic skills – and so do I :D

  2. Susan Mac Donald
    September 11, 2012

    Doesn’t it feel great when the end result looks like a store finish? So often a better finish is done by yourself rather than the manufacture.TFS!!

    • CreativeLMent
      September 12, 2012

      It is great! I’m not afraid anymore of buying something just because it isn’t perfect (or close). Instead I start pinching the fabric, imagining how a few tweaks might make it look. Next on my list is a serger (swoon!)…it would help me work with knits a lot more :) There’s always that “next thing” you need, isn’t there? lol

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 8, 2012 by in All Topics, DIY Clothing/Accessories and tagged , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Pinterest

