Creative LMent

I believe that creativity is a powerful skill that can be practiced and developed. I hope my blog inspires you to find your very own "creative lment". ~LM

Pillow Slip Covers

A few years ago a friend of mine, who also happens to be a talented life coach, hosted a vision board activity at her house (if you’ve never done one, its worth your while to learn more about it).  Anyhoo – as we went through the exercise, we talked about what we would each do if we were to make a larger income.  And once we got past all the obvious  things, such as saving money for retirement and hobbies – we all agreed how FUN it would be to seasonally decorate our home.  There’s something so nice about a home that reflects the current season in subtle but not necessarily expensive ways.

Turns out my new little sewing hobby totally enables me to create seasonal touches in my home – for very little money!  Take these pillow slip covers, for example.  Literally, $10 worth of fleece and 90m of my time.  And now that I’ve been through the process once, I’ll definitely be making lots more slip covers!  So easy and so fun to make.  I picked this patten because I wanted something to cover the animal print on my couch pillows over the Christmas holiday’s.  I liked the pattern’s “ugly sweater” reference and that it made my pillows even more warm and snuggly.  Despite my original plan to just cut and sew with utter abandonment, in the end, perfectionism won, and I took the extra time to cut pieces to match the pattern (so it wrapped all the way around the pillow) and made sure to turn and sew any visable edges.  I’m glad I took the extra time (and really, working with fleece was so easy).

I decided not to take photos of all the steps since Penga over at Sakacon did such a great job explaining the process of her blog here (thanks Penga!).  If you’re looking for an easy slip cover project, this is it.  Have a wonderful week!

4 comments on “Pillow Slip Covers

  1. Patricia Wall-England
    November 22, 2012

    Love it… wow you are an inspiration…

    • CreativeLMent
      November 22, 2012

      Waaa- thanks Pat! :D

    • Lynda MacDonald
      November 23, 2012

      Lovely,soft,warm and cuddily looking…great job! Congrats,Lisa Marie on completing another wonderful project! …hugs,Lynda

  2. penga
    November 22, 2012

    Love the print you used! Seasonal pillows are such a good idea! Thanks for the shoutout :)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 22, 2012 by in All Topics, DIY Decor/Organization and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Pinterest

