Creative LMent

I believe that creativity is a powerful skill that can be practiced and developed. I hope my blog inspires you to find your very own "creative lment". ~LM

Valentine’s Day Crepe Paper Heart Wreath

Step6_post_main

This year I wanted to create a cute Valentine’s Day door wreath – and was super keen to try out a technique, which to date, I had not yet found a reason to try:  making roses out of crepe paper streamers.  These adorable flowers are made from the same rolls you find in the party section of your local dollar store.  And if you choose to make your own wreath frame, as I did (using recycled materials), you too will be able to make something like this for just $3.  Want to learn more?  I’ve outlined the steps I used below in the event you’d like to try making one too!

Materials:

  • Paper 
  • Pencil
  • Scissors
  • Crepe Paper Streamer(s)
  • Hot Glue and Glue Gun
  • Wreath Frame Material of your Choosing (Cardboard, Form Core, etc.)
  • Ribbon (to Hang)

When you create your own wreath frame, you can design any shape you want, for any theme.  The possibilities are really endless!  And once you see how easy it is, you’ll never again want to buy an expensive mass produced version.  With Valentine’s Day in mind, I envisioned a medium sized heart – filled with lots of beautiful red crepe paper roses.  The first thing I did was take a piece of paper, fold it in half, and with the fold in the centre of the shape, trace out half of a heart.

Step1_post

Then I cut the shape out and opened the sheet of paper.  This gave me a perfectly symmetrical heart, which I then used as a template for the next step, cutting out the wreath frame.

Step2_post

For the wreath frame itself, you can use any sturdy material – such as heavy card stock (like a cereal box), cardboard, or do what I did, and use foam board.  You can buy foam board at any dollar store, but lucky for me, I was able to reuse some that I already had on hand from an old, discarded project.  As long as it can withstand the weight of the hot glue and the flowers, and you can cut into it with a pair of scissors, you can choose to up-cycle a wide variety of materials that you already have around your home.

As you can see from the image below, after I traced my shape and cut it out, I then took a small knife and cut a little hole in the upper middle of the heart.  I will use this hole later to (tie a ribbon through and) hang the finished project on the inside of my door.

Step3_post

Now, the REALLY fun part – making the roses.  I found a wonderful tutorial on how to do these here from our friends at The House of Smiths.  She used them on a hanging flower ball project (so pretty!) and did such a great job describing the process.  I appreciated her encouragement and her advice that “it takes a couple to get it down” – as you can see from the image below, my first flower looked a lot different from my second!  After I’d made my third, I really was flying through them.  This isn’t really about talent as it is good old fashioned practice.  Note: they are a little time consuming to make, so for your first time, I’d recommend a nice small project (if possible!).

Step4_post

Here’s a shot of the back.  The stem that you see is created during your first few curls when making the centre of the rose.  After that, you are really building the flower on one end.  When you are ready to use the flower on your project, just cut the stem off so that you have a flatter surface to glue down.

Step4B_post

I would make a few flowers at a time, then stop to add them to my wreath. When  I glued them down, I tried to keep them fairly close to one another, but other than that, I didn’t follow any specific pattern when gluing them on.  When I was done, I noticed that there were a few spots around the edges where you could still see a little bit of the white  foam core board.  To remedy this, I just took more of my crepe paper and glued it to one end of my heart shape, then I glue it around the edge, twisting as I went, all the way around the wreath frame.  Where there were any noticible gaps along the way, I just tucked a little paper in place and glued as I went.  This created a nice decorative edge and really finished the project off nicely.

Step5_post

I was thrilled with how this project turned out – and am already thinking of how I can use this technique to create something special for the coming summer months.  In the meantime, I hope you all have a fabulous Valentine’s week!

Step6_post

Creative LMent LM Sig

One comment on “Valentine’s Day Crepe Paper Heart Wreath

  1. Lynda MacDonald
    February 11, 2013

    Beautiful design! Looks lovely! I love the look-very romantic and eye-catching-thank you for sharing,hugs,Lynda

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Pinterest

