Creative LMent

I believe that creativity is a powerful skill that can be practiced and developed. I hope my blog inspires you to find your very own "creative lment". ~LM

DIY Rope Wreath with Felt Flowers

step1_Feature_sig_postI’ve wanted a nice “all season” wreath for a while now. Looking at the ready made selection available at our local stores, I’ve found myself either turned off by the price or the quality.  And to to be frank, I haven’t been especially tickled with the styles I’ve been encountering.  I’m not a polyester flower person, or someone who loves over the top ribbon displays, and I ESPECIALLY  dislike unnecessary foofoo.   I just wanted something simple that would coordinate with my home’s minimalistic style and colour palette (specifically the floor in my entry way). Finding anything like that was proving near impossible.  Seemed the only way to get what I wanted was to make it myself (but isn’t that always the way!).

I decided to save a few bucks and up-cycle an old cardboard box into a simple donut shaped wreath form.  To do this, I used a box, two bowls (one larger than the other), some rope from the hardware store, and some hot glue.  Using the larger of the two bowls, I traced out the outter shape and then used the smaller bowl to trace the inside shape.  Then I carefully cut it out.  I repeated this two more times, so that I had 3 circles in total (all with the centres cut out).

step1_postI then used hot glue to adhere the layers together (making sure to keep them aligned).  After gluing them, I let them set for a few minutes, placing a few heavy books over top.   I used this time to acknowledge my cat, Baxter, who was patiently waiting for me to finish gluing and resume patting his head.  Isn’t he cute? :)

step3_post

Once that was done, I started adding the rope.  As you  can see from the image below, I used kraft coloured masking tape to hold down the first end piece, then I carefully wrapped the rope around the frame, weaving in and through the “donut” hole.  I had to be careful to place the robe in a way which did not bulk up the centre too much, while at the same time, adequately cover the outer edges of the wreath.  When I was done, I then used hot glue to adhere the end piece.  Wrapping the rope took some careful adjusting and patience, but overall, it was very easy to do.

step6_post

When I was done, I was left with a round wreath form, texturized with neutral robe. You could easily replace the rope with strips of crepe paper, fabric or yarn – the options are pretty much endless!  To make some accent flowers, I selected some felt in colours that would compliment the floor in my front entry way: grey, cream and deep purple.

step7_post

I then hand-cut some rolled flowers out of the felt.  These are so easy to make – all you need to do is cut a circle of fabric, and then free cut a spiral into the circle. Starting from the outside end, roll the fabric until you get to the inside end piece.  The inside end piece is basically just a round tab; add a big dab of hot glue to it and then press it into your rolled flower to seal everything together. I used a combination of these flowers to accent the wreath, and added them using (you guessed it!), more hot glue.

step9_post

I love how the felt I selected matches the floor title in my entry way, and how “season neutral” it is so that it looks good no matter what time of year it is.  I have a metal front door so when I found this fabulous magnetic hook (from Lee Valley) I was really excited.  The heavy duty one only comes in Donald Trump gold (as you can see in the first picture)….I later spray painted mine “brushed nickel” to coordinate with the fixtures in my house. I hung the wreath up using a long strip of grey felt (and just cut little button holes through the two ends so that I could latch it onto the hook).  Between the rope, the felt and the hot glue, this custom “all season” wreath only cost me $5 to make.

step10_sig-Post

Creative LMent LM Sig

3 comments on “DIY Rope Wreath with Felt Flowers

  1. Lynda MacDonald
    February 24, 2013

    Looks soooo lovely,Lisa Marie! The wreath with the homemade felt flowers will certainly complement your entranceway.The first cut of the felt reminded me of peeling an apple! Your creativity and motivation to follow through on an idea is very inpressive! You would make an EXCELLENT art teacher for artists in the classroom series! The students would love it and learn so much! Keep enjoying and thank you for sharing your work and teaching steps, hugs,Lynda

  2. Lynda MacDonald
    February 24, 2013

    Baxter is BEAUTIFUL,by the way!

  3. diaryofamadmama
    March 10, 2013

    This is so beautiful! Thank you for sharing! It could be made using Christmas colors for Christmas or Easter or 4th of July too! Awesome. Although I like the one you made for all season the best! What a great idea.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Pinterest

