Creative LMent

I believe that creativity is a powerful skill that can be practiced and developed. I hope my blog inspires you to find your very own "creative lment". ~LM

DIY Stripped Shirt-to-Skirt Refashion #2

after_post

I enjoyed my first t-shirt-to-a-skirt-refashion so much I thought I would do it again – this time with a Denver Hayes t-shirt I found at Goodwill for only $1.50.  That’s right kiddies – I made this cute skirt for less than the price of a coffee.  I loved the trendy stripes and overall quality of the material – and when the price is that good, it’s easy to say YES!

IMG_4447_post

Here’s my cat Bentley kindly weighing down the material in preparation for cutting.  If I ever need to find him, all I need to do is lay down a piece of fabric and like magic, he suddenly appears lol It’s the funniest thing!

Since the material was not as stretchy as my previous project, I decided a few darts were needed in the back to help create some shape around some of my…hmmm…lady bits.  I took a moment to crop the photo of my behind to save you from having to stare at it in it’s entirety (you’re welcome).  No special design skills needed to do this, just make sure the darts are the same length and distance (from the side hem).

IMG_4464

I found this project easier the second time around and I am starting to feel like my sewing skills are really coming along.  The finishing touches on this version look even better –  inside and out.  At this rate, I expect I’ll have a whole closet of these by the end of the summer!

Creative LMent LM Sig

3 comments on “DIY Stripped Shirt-to-Skirt Refashion #2

  1. Lynda MacDonald
    March 24, 2013

    Looks divine! Love the design and colour! You did a fantastic job and made it seem so simple to do! Enjoy your next project, you and Bentley…hugs,Lynda

  2. forestmtnhike
    March 25, 2013

    That is so cute! What a neat idea! I never thought of that…meaning, making a skirt off a t-shirt. Goodwill is one of my favorite stores. I’m going to keep an I out for projects like that from now on. Thanks for sharing the idea!:)

    • CreativeLMent
      March 25, 2013

      You are welcome! And they are very quick to make too. So addictive! lol

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Pinterest

