Creative LMent

I believe that creativity is a powerful skill that can be practiced and developed. I hope my blog inspires you to find your very own "creative lment". ~LM

DIY Foam Board Spice Rack

 CreativeLMent_SpiceRack14_sig

Foam board is the BEST material for light, inexpensive projects.  I use it to make custom shelving and organizers of all types.  All you need is a $1 piece of foam board from your local dollar store and a hot glue gun.  Seriously – the possibilities are ENDLESS! :)

CreativeLMent_SpiceRack1_sig

I’ve got an outright situation on my hands here people.  See this mess above?  It’s my spice collection.  MINE!!!  And if you know me, you understand how crazy this makes me.  Something had to be done. And it had to be done TODAY.

CreativeLMent_SpiceRack2_sig

The first thing I did was organize my spices into rows based on bottle size.  Then (see below) I placed a piece of paper against one side of the cabinet (not shown) then determined the depth and height for each level I needed.  I used a pen to draw it out and did a lot of eye-balling – but it worked out perfectly in the end.

DraftingCollage_sig

Below you will see my final sketch, which I used to create measurements, and then, a final template.  Again, I eye-balled it and it worked just fine.  

CreativeLMent_SpiceRack8_cropped

Then, I used my template to trace and cut 3 pieces from the foam board.  I found the easiest thing was to start with the the corners as it reduced the amount of cutting I needed to do.  You can cut foam board with scissors, but it works much better with a box cutter (just make sure you are cutting on a protected surface).

CreativeLMent_SpiceRack9_sig

Since I already knew the height and depth of each step (see my sketch template above) – now all I needed what a final length. To figure that out, I just lined up my longest row of products and measured them – which for me was 18.5 inches.  

CreativeLMent_SpiceRack10_sig

After cutting a piece of foam board 18.5 inches wide, I drew lines (where I needed to cut) on both sides of the board.

CreativeLMent_SpiceRack11_sig

Then, I used a ruler to join the two sides.  These will be my raisers and steps. Now, I was ready to cut!

CreativeLMent_SpiceRack12_sig

Once all the pieces were cut, I glued everything together.  The third piece of the template cut acts as a support for the rack – and it is the last piece you glue on.

CreativeLMent_SpiceRack13_sig

To hide some of the roughly cut edges, all I did was add two pieces of decorative masking tape to the top two edges.  And that’s it – easy, efficient and so inexpensive!  Be still my heart.

CreativeLMent_SpiceRack15_sig

Creative LMent LM Sig

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 24, 2014 by in All Topics, DIY Decor/Organization and tagged .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Pinterest

